District Election Officer seeks cooperation of Political Parties, citizens for free and fair elections

Bathinda, : District Election Officer cum Deputy Commissioner, Bathinda Mr. Ghanshyam Thori today sought cooperation from all political parties and citizen of Bathinda district to conduct free and fair elections for Punjab Vidhan Sabha-2017.
As the model code of conduct imposed by Election Commission of India today, the District Election Officer Mr. Thori said that the Model Code of Conduct had begun and it was the responsibility of all political parties to strictly adhere the guidelines of ECI. He also urged the representatives of political parties not to deface the public properties as it would invite penal action under relevant provisions of law.
Issuing directions to all officers/officials for ensuring strict compliance of the instruction of Election Commission of India under Model Code of Conduct, Mr. Ghanshyam Thori said that strict compliance of instructions should be ensured besides time bound action. He said that detailed instructions of ECI had been issued to all authorities for strict compliance of Model Code of Conduct. He said that under defacement of government property all authorities should ensure the removal of posters, papers or defacement in any other form including cutout, hoardings, banners, flags etc within given time frame.
Divulging details about the requirement of General Observers and Police Observers, Mr. Thori said that the Commission would depute 7 senior IAS, IRS and IPS officers from other states in the district. He said that 3 senior IAS officers would be deputed as General Observers, 3 senior IRS officers would be deputed as Expenditure observers and one senior IPS officer from other state would be as Police Observer. He also informed that a 24X7 District Level Control room had also been setup in the office of District Development and Panchayats Officer Bathinda in Room No 235-E. He said that people could get any details and information from this control room by dialing 0164-2224917 along with facility of fax at 0164- 2224916.
Mr. Thori informed that for smooth, peaceful, free and fair conduct of elections various committees have been formed, which will monitor all exercise pertaining to elections. He said that 6 Assistant Expenditure Observers had been deputed for Rampura Phul, Bhucho Mandi, Bathinda Urban, Bathinda Rural, Talwandi Sabo and Maur constituencies. He said that Video Surveillance Team, Video Viewing and Media Monitoring Team, Accounting Team and Expenditure Monitoring Cell were also formed besides Static Survelliance Team, flying squad and Media Certification and Monitoring Committee had also been constituted. He said that MCMC will provide the pre-certification of political advertisement proposed to be issued on electronic media besides keeping a close tab on paid news.
POLL SCHEDULE-The District Election Officer cum Deputy Commissioner Mr. Ghanshyam Thori said that nominations would start from 11 January 2017 and the last date of nominations would be 18 January 2017. He said that the scrutiny of nominations would take place on 19 January while on 21 January would be for withdrawal. He said that Polling would take place on 4 February 2017 and 11 March 2017 has been fixed for counting by ECI.
Meanwhile, Sub Divisional Magistrate Bathinda Mrs. Sakshi Sawhney, Sub Divisional Magistrate Rampura Phul Mr. Narinder Singh Dhaliwal, SDM Maur Mr. Latif Ahmad and SDM Talwandi Sabo Mr. Subash Chander Khatak held a meeting with district officer where they informed the officers about the guidelines of Election Commission regarding implementation of Model Code of Conduct.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles